Strawberry Picking at Beerenberg, South Australia

Image

Wee bit excited about my harvest!

I used to think Hahndorf was pretty lame but that was before I actually went there. It’s not lame at all! It’s a cool little German town with quiet streets, cute cafes and best of all, its very own strawberry farm! Giggedy! (That was my best excited farmer noise). We decided to go there because I have never picked my own strawberries before and it excited me to think I could forage through bushes to find the reddest, juiciest ones (as opposed to the pale, inadequate ones you generally find at Woolworths). Beerenberg is famous for its jams and condiments and every year they employ a small amount of people to pick the best strawberries to be used in their products. As for the bruised, unattractive strawberries? They get kicked to the kerb. How discriminatory! I felt it was our duty to save as many innocent strawberries as possible! Well, not really, I was most probably going to choose the pretty ones :S

At the main entrance, you are greeted by a lovely lady who slaps a wristband on for $4, hands you a plastic container and tells you to fill it to your heart’s content. Once you’re done, your containers are weighed and you pay for the weight you picked. At over $10 a kilo, it’s a bit pricey but I figured we were paying for the experience, and surely the strawberries would taste amazing! It was a lot of fun creeping through the rows of strawberry bushes, peeking in and around to find the most luscious looking berries. Pretty soon, both of our containers were full and $30 later we headed home!.

Sadly, the strawberries didn’t take well to travel and by the time we got home, they were slightly bruised. And taste-wise, it was disappointing. I’ve tasted better strawberries from my local supermarket. So unfortunately the strawberries themselves were a fail, but I still recommend hitting up Beerenberg on a nice day to be part of your own strawberry hunt. It’s a bit of fun and there’s nothing stopping you from finding a nice patch of dirt and eating strawberries until the cows come home!

x

ImageImage

Leave a comment